Superman Never Made Any Money

Superman Never Made Any Money

 

superman symbol.jpg

 

“Superman’s Song” by Crash Test Dummies

Tarzan wasn’t a ladies’ man He’d just come along and scoop ’em up under his arm Like that, quick as a cat in the jungle

But Clark Kent, now there was a real gent He would not be caught sittin’ around in no Junglescape, dumb as an ape doing nothing

[Chorus:] Superman never made any money For saving the world from Solomon Grundy And sometimes I despair the world will never see Another man like him

Hey Bob, Supe had a straight job Even though he could have smashed through any bank In the United States, he had the strength, but he would not Folks said his family were all dead Their planet crumbled but Superman, he forced himself To carry on, forget Krypton, and keep going

[Chorus:] Superman never made any money For saving the world from Solomon Grundy And sometimes I despair the world will never see Another man like him

Tarzan was king of the jungle and Lord over all the apes But he could hardly string together four words: “I Tarzan, You Jane.”

Sometimes when Supe was stopping crimes I’ll bet that he was tempted to just quit and turn his back On man, join Tarzan in the forest

But he stayed in the city, and kept on changing clothes In dirty old phonebooths till his work was through And nothing to do but go on home

superman symbol

 

 

[Chorus:] Superman never made any money For saving the world from Solomon Grundy And sometimes I despair the world will never see Another man like him

 

The song above has been playing in my head for the past week, haven’t heard it in years yet as good songs do, it started playing in my head, so I looked it up. How fitting it is in today’s society with all that is going on in the news, Donald Trump, crimes, controversies, people arguing and using social media to quickly judge others that this song lyrics would help to be a reminder to us all. (atleast to me it is)

With personal stress dealing with others and the media it seems more people are out for themselves. What is in it for me? What can I get out of it? The age of instant gratification, I want it now.

‘Sometimes I wonder if the world will ever see another man (or woman) like that’

Where is the humanity, kindness, compassion, simply helping just to help? I know it is there as I am blessed some days with giving and receiving it. I just wish that it was highlighted more often in the media and expressed between loved ones.

Be your own Superman, do for others simply just because you can. Express gratitude to those who enter your life and support you simply because they can. That is going to become more of a focus of mine, giving with out expectations and not giving up to ‘go live with Tarzan’ when things get rough or I feel unappreciated. Hard? Yes but the world could sure use more Supes.

And if no one has told you today: thank you for all you do to help others.

Namaste. ∞

Leave a Reply

