A day without glasses

Today was a bright and sunny day, so as I left the house I put my glasses into my purse and put on my prescription sunglasses and left for a course.

untitled (14).png

I have been wearing prescription glasses since I was 11 years old. First noticed I needed glasses when I was in the car with my mom and we were stopped behind another car, I asked my mom what the license plate in front of me was and why couldn’t I see the letters? Off to the eye doctor who bluntly informed us that I would be blind by the time I was in my 20s, degenerative eye disorder. Holy crap, what? seriously? No way. Off for a second opinion, yep poor eye sight, no degenerative disorder, you just need glasses. Learned early to always get a second opinion.

So today, when I arrived to my course, I pushed my sunglasses up on my head and well, just didn’t feel like taking out my other glasses. Yep lazy kind of day. I still shared, listened and followed along as usual however my day was different.

Yes, for the obvious reason that I couldn’t see as clearly. Also it changed my perspective of things around me.

Since I couldn’t make out distinct features of people, I found myself listening more intensely to what they were saying. In the bathroom, since I couldn’t analyze and critique every detail of my face, I found myself more accepting of my appearance.

A strange thing to, people were more helpful towards me. Maybe I was squinting or looking a bit helpless or maybe it was the way I looked without glasses or maybe because I was feeling a lot more present since I had to be more focussed on what I was doing in the moment rather than thinking five steps ahead and showing my irritation. Ordering food, the man was overly helpful, getting a coffee they seemed more patient with me, dorrs held open for me, people were sharing more with me and me with them.

By changing my perspective on my day I slowed down (also due to limited sight lol), was more mindful in what I was doing.

Granted I won’t do this every day, defiantly not when I am driving, nursing a headache as well. Overall though one simple decision helped me to be more present and mindful, for that I am grateful for the opportunity ‘see’ the world differently and to be reminded to slow down and be in the moment.

How would your day be different if you didn’t put on your ‘glasses’?

Something to think about.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

