I wish my teacher knew

 

What would your children, you as a parent or even your younger self say to your teacher.? Teachers have a very challenging job and wear many hats. Getting to know each student, their background is so vital in understanding their learning and what they have to go home to each night.

I would defiantly want to do this in my classroom through out the year as academics is so much more than the curriculum and it gives each person a voice. Wouldn’t it be great to have one, ‘I wish my boss knew….’ or ‘I wish my family knew…’ imagine what you would say to that.

Would you be more open with how you felt if it were anonymous?

Here is the article shared from New York Times:

What Kids Wish Their Teachers Knew

When Kyle Schwartz started teaching third grade at Doull Elementary School in Denver, she wanted to get to know her students better. She asked them to finish the sentence “I wish my teacher knew.”

Photo

The responses were eye-opening for Ms. Schwartz. Some children were struggling with poverty (“I wish my teacher knew I don’t have pencils at home to do my homework”); an absent parent (“I wish my teacher knew that sometimes my reading log is not signed because my mom isn’t around a lot”); and a parent taken away (“I wish my teacher knew how much I miss my dad because he got deported to Mexico when I was 3 years old and I haven’t seen him in six years”).

Photo

The lesson spurred Ms. Schwartz, now entering her fifth teaching year, to really understand what her students were facing outside the classroom to help them succeed at school. When she shared the lesson last year with others, it became a sensation, with the Twitter hashtag “#iwishmyteacherknew” going viral. Other teachers tried the exercise and had similar insights. Many sent her their students’ responses.

Photo

In her recently published book, “I Wish My Teacher Knew: How One Question Can Change Everything For Our Kids,” Ms. Schwartz details how essential it is for teachers and families to be partners.

Photo

“I really want families to know how intentional teachers are about creating a sense of community and creating relationships with kids,” Ms. Schwartz said. “Kids don’t learn when they don’t feel safe or valued.”

Photo

Melody Molinoff of Washington, D.C., who has two sons, ages 9 and 11, in the public school system, agreed.

“Parents see the teacher as their partner in bringing up their child, and that’s a huge responsibility that we are putting on our teachers and our schools,” Ms. Molinoff said. “I always want my sons’ teachers to know what their challenges are, what they like, just more about them.”

What would you write?

Who do you wish knew more about you?

Leave a Reply

