I want to thank the man in the high heels

I want to thank the man in the high heels

Today as I was coming from the hospital, doctor had called in sick and no one called me, I was wandering around feeling very low lately. Want and need a change. Change of life, career, city, hell even a name change.

Of course than I begin to think of all of the reasons this simply isn’t possible. Where would I move to? What new job would apply for and how would I afford the transition. Even the name change came with worries of upsetting my parents and practically of it, how do you get people who have known you for a long time to simply start to call you something different.

Yep am in one of those places in life where I want to stand in the middle of the street and scream just to be heard. To change everything so I can start over.

It is even possible to start over?

Than I saw a young man on the escalator in front of me wearing high heels, rocking out a hipster look and giving off a very content vibe.

Whatever you beliefs are on the issue of gender, transgender, dressing in clothes society has decided is for the other gender, all of that, this is not what that is about. This is not about political or religious beliefs. This moment, for me, was about someone who made a choice. A choice to step outside into the world and say this is me, this is who I am because I chose to be me.

How empowering. To take that step out of your front door, as yourself, no mask, no clothes to blend in, just be you.

So I offer thanks for that moment reminding me that peace, acceptance comes from yourself first.

I went to starbucks and tried out the new name I wanted to be called. A small, very small step but a step. I also shared how I was really feeling when asked how are you instead of just answering ‘fine’ or ‘good’. I think it shocked both of us.

Do you walk out your door as you, the real you or wearing the mask of who you think you should be? I wonder what the world would look like if we all accepted ourselves as who we are?

2 thoughts on “I want to thank the man in the high heels

  1. Thought provoking piece. I think we all need to take a leaf out of the book that man reads. Needs bravery though and often only really accomplished in full by those who don’t have other responsibilities which make it difficult or impossible. Still, we can all have a piece of the pie even if we can’t all walk off holding the whole and wearing stilettos 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

