Does science and happiness go together?

A boatload of research offers practical advice you can use to start being happier today. Science has landed a probe on a comet hurtling through space, wiped smallpox from the face of the earth, and split the atom. Surely research can come up with a few ways to make humans happier. Thanks to the advent…

via 10 science-backed ways to be a happier person — BayArt

I came across the article above, a post from BayArt. I enjoy reading BayArt and like reading posts that make me think, question and wonder.

I have to say that I disagree with the title of the article. ‘Ways to be a happier person’ apply x, y and z and….your happy. Great tips and strategies listed but not one or all of them will make you ‘happy’. It can be dangerous to list what will make you happy.

When I was younger I used to think that if I just followed those steps above, every day than I would be happy all the time. It never worked, which would lead me to sink low, wondering what I was doing wrong. I thoughts if I get, do, have, x, y and z than I will be happy forever. I would get x, y, and z, have happiness but as life and stress creeped in, I would find myself unhappy again.

Thankfully I am learning that there are many great strategies but nothing can make you ‘happy’ all the time.

I have taken many classes and have discussed and practised a lot of these ideas. Yet happiness can not be down to science.

Your background, where you live, your health, family, etc all play such a huge role and change daily. These are great tips to use but I would be hesitant to say make you happier, as to each their own in what defines happiness.

Use and have as many strategies and tips in your ‘life tool belt’ as you can for each day brings it’s own highs and lows which you will need to navigate.

Remember to some days one strategy may work for you and than it may not work as well the next day. You can’t recreate happiness. Accept where you are at an d try another strategy.

What brings you happiness?

Do you think that science can tell you how to be happy?

3 thoughts on “Does science and happiness go together?

  1. Great post. I don’t think science can tell you how to be happy. Their research is all reactive, not proactive. Happiness is inside you, and how you see yourself and the world around you. Period. Yes, I am a happy person, and I just see. Everything. -Jennie-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

